Help is around the corner

January 21, 2011 § 2 Comments

Today I read a very interesting post. One line in that blog is haunting me, “And I cut myself”. As a teenager, I did things I’m not very proud of. I repeated them in 20s. Certain instances I have blocked from my memory. Many of friends have faced same. And They all were cries for Help. We looked around, found no one and resorted to hurting ourselves. Should we have done it? Of course Not. We were not smart or emotionally equipped to handle certain situations. And sadly, there was no one around to talk about it. Why?
Because, As a Society (Indian One), we look down on depression. We believe it’s an imaginary problem and doesn’t require any help. In some cases, maybe not. But in some cases, Yes, it’s needed.
Going to a psychologist or psychiatrist is not encouraged. Why not? Do we realize how many lives can be saved? Yes, we are Indians and we have families to help us. But not everything can be discussed with families and friends. And what if they are the reason?
What are we really afraid of? I tell you what. As Indians, we don’t like to let strangers know that we might have a problem at home. Nobody should realize that we might not be perfect. Nobody should be able to judge us. Dirty Laundry is not even acknowledged, let alone be aired. We are brilliant in denials. and We believe denial means problem doesn’t exist.
Can we somehow get over ourselves and start treating such problems as real problems? Can we please not call a person crazy just because he/she went to a psychiatrist? Can we please be open enough that our kids can ask us for help?

PS: I know all families are not like that. Sadly, most are. I myself suffer from Anxiety problems and if not for timely intervention by family and medical help, I might not be where I’m today. And that’s one of the reasons I’m so fascinated by Psychology as a field.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Help is around the corner

  • Eric Wilde says:

    I’ve observed the phenomenon across a couple cultures. The specific forces that bind us vary; but, the reactions in individuals seem to have common refrains.

    Peace

  • SK says:

    I usually get your posts in Reader..the site is blocked at work 😐

    you’ve nailed the issue here and as i said that as individuals one should offer an active dialog with those in need rather than dismiss their state as merely a psychological imbalance.
    I think that’s where the knowledge of psychology helps even though a psychiatrist or professional counselor can do a better job.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Help is around the corner at All I have is a Dream...

meta

