Regrets or not?

September 6, 2010 § 2 Comments

I recently read a post about someone wondering about why people say no regrets when they are bound to be some in each life. Got me thinking. What do we really mean by ‘No regrets’? As humans, we make choices every day, some right and some wrong. So why ‘No regrets’?
Here’s my interpretation –
Regret means (via dictionary)A sense of loss and longing for someone or something gone. Or A feeling of disappointment or distress about something that one wishes could be different.
But as it is with lots of words and phrases, we all have devised our own understanding. My personal understanding includes the part about ‘distress something that one wishes could be different’. For me, if anyone gives me a choice of not repeating the mistakes I made, I would (in all probability) repeat them. Why, you say? Why not? Each time you do something, you do it with a reason. It’s later when you define it as a mistake or not. And each such choice help you shape your life the way it is today. Yes, I like the illusion of perfect life. It would be nice to have. But would I really be happy there? And who’s to say the other choice would have been better one.
To answer, whether your life is with Regrets or not, Look at your current life. Are you happy? Do you feel overall satisfied? (Ok, we are not counting the raise you can use or the bigger car/house you can buy) Would you swap places with someone else?
If your answers to first questions is No or to last one is ‘yes’. Yes, you have regrets in your life. Saying otherwise won’t change anything.
But if you answer otherwise. Then, Welcome to the Club of ‘No Regrets’

Of course, you might disagree. But overall, if you look around, People with regrets are the ones disappointed with their current lives. They just don’t want to be somewhere else, they want most of their lives changed. And frankly, I don’t think they would be happy with new life as well. As I keep repeating ‘No one can make you happy, but yourself.’
The ones who like their current life are the ones saying ‘no regrets’. Of course, there are always things that you want or wish for. But would I really give up my current life, I don’t think so. Do I want to change myself as a person? Except for few tweaks** here and there, No. I’m happy being who I am. And each mistake I committed contributed in my being the person you see today. Where would I be, had I not learned from those lessons?
So, happily and with pride, I say my life is without Regrets.

**Biggest tweak I want in myself is to be more tolerant of people around -dumb/selfish/mean/just about everyone (yes, it includes the bitch as well).

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Regrets or not?

  • Eric Wilde says:

    That’s not usually what I think people mean when they say “no regrets.” My reading of the phrase is that an individual will live their life with gusto, make the best of what they have and feel confident that their choices were correct given the context.

    I do have some regrets for past actions. Nothing big; but, small things I’d like to change. Spiteful vindictiveness or small mindedness that I really should have known better at the time. Did I learn from them? Sure; but, usually I already knew what I was doing was wrong at the time.

    • Another Dreamer says:

      Why were you doing it if you knew it was wrong? Never mind 🙂 we should discuss it offline..
      But aren’t we both saying the same thing in the end – It’s about being happy with the choices you made..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Regrets or not? at All I have is a Dream...

meta

