Glorified Past

August 11, 2010 § Leave a comment

Today I received an interesting mail. A friend is planning to write a book on our school days. (Yes, I hear you. I kept talking about writing and haven’t even got past 1st chapter. I should learn something. But I digress.) So while thinking about school memories, I realized, we have glorified most of it. It was a normal childhood (ok, adolescent years), but whenever we reminisce, you would think we were the only ones having fun or with good friends. I’m sure we had our share of issues but somehow it’s all faded away. However, the hurt on the other hand seems so much better now.

While I believed my first heart break would kill me,
I’m still sitting here, typing away,
breaking few hearts on the way.
There are things I have forgotten, misdeeds I did.
There are people I can’t remember.
I’m sure it’s because they didn’t matter.
And there are friends with whom I still watch blockbuster movies.
There are friends who used to be best friends.
Now we talk only on birthdays.
There are friends who I thought would lose contact.
And even now we speak with each other every week.
Strange world we live in.
Strange memories we have.
I wonder after 10 more years, how much truth will remain in them.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Glorified Past at All I have is a Dream...

meta

