What If??

August 12, 2009 § 2 Comments

“All our young lives we search for someone to love. Someone who makes us complete. We choose partners & change partners. We dance to a song of heartbreak & hope. All the while wondering if somewhere, somehow, there’s someone perfect who might be searching for us”.
~Narrator in The Wonder Years (1988)

What scares me is what if I have already met such a person and let him go?
Or what if it was the stranger who smiled at me while walking away?
Or what if he’s with someone else right now and is content to be there?
Or worse, Happy to be with someone else?
What if??

It’s thoughts like these which scare me at times, more than the creepy crawly insects. 🙂

§ 2 Responses to What If??

  • Eric Wilde says:

    I firmly believe that we cannot find contentment with another person, regardless of how much we may love them.

    My relationship with my first wife was incredibly deep and meaningful to me. In many ways it was deeper and more fulfilling than my current marriage. But I didn’t find contentment until well after the divorce.

    Romantic love and domestic partnership fulfills some of our need to love and be loved. But they cannot really define who we are and what our purpose in life may be. We are already complete in ourselves, there is no missing piece to us that another person can provide. Hedwig and her angry inch were wrong.

    Contentment comes only with self knowledge.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What If?? at All I have is a Dream...

meta

